style="border-color:#;" >
style="background:#;" >
Scegli il colore

Eni announces winners of its 2016 award

(AGI) San Donato Milanese, July 6 - Italian oil and gas giant Eni has announced ...

Eni announces winners of its 2016 award
 logo Eni (Imago)

(AGI) San Donato Milanese, July 6 - Italian oil and gas giant Eni has announced the names of the winning researchers and scientists for the ninth edition of the Eni Award for excellence in energy, a prize created in 2007. Over time, it has become a benchmark at an international level for research in the fields of energy and the environment. The Eni Award aims to promote better use of energy sources and stimulate newer generations of researchers in their work, attesting the importance that Eni attributes to scientific research and innovation. The New Frontiers in Hydrocarbons - Downstream prize was awarded to Johannes Lercher of the Technische Universitat Munchen for his research project "Novel catalytic strategies to Alkenes and Alkanols". The Upstream prize went to Christopher Ballentine of the University of Oxford for his research project "Novel Tracers for Determining the Fluid Processes Controlling Subsurface Gas Origin and Behaviour", ex aequo with Emiliano Mutti of the University of Parma for his research "Deep-Water Sedimentation: Turbidites And Contourites And Their Facies And Reservoir Characteristics". The Environmental Protection Prize was awarded to David Milstein of the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel, for his research project "Novel, Environmentally Friendly, Efficient Catalytic Reactions to Replace Polluting Processes". Eni's Research Debut prizes were awarded to Federico Bella of the Polytechnic University of Turin for his doctoral thesis "Photopolymers for Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells", and to Alessandra Menafoglio of the Polytechnic University of Milan, for her doctoral thesis "Object Oriented Geostatistics". The Eni Award 2016 prizes will be presented on October 20 in Rome, during an official ceremony at the Quirinal Palace in the presence of the Italian President, Sergio Mattarella. (AGI). .